National Bank of Belgium

Address: Boulevard de Berlaimont 14
City: Brussels
ZIP Code: 1000
Country: Belgium


“The National Bank of Belgium (NBB; Dutch: Nationale Bank van België, French: Banque nationale de Belgique, German: Belgische Nationalbank) has been the central bank of Belgium since 1850. The National Bank of Belgium was established with 100% private capital by a law of 5 May 1850 as a naamloze vennootschap (NV). It is a member of the European System of Central Banks and the Eurosystem. Until January 1999 when Belgium adopted the euro, the bank was responsible for the former national currency, the Belgian franc

The Bank is charged with tasks of general interest, with a central focus on monetary stability, safe banknotes and efficient payment systems and providing economic and financial data.

The bodies of the Bank are the Governor, the Executive Committee (six members), the Council of Regency (the governor, the directors and fourteen regents), the Sanctions Committee and the Resolution College.”