IACA Excellence in Currency 2022 Awards Winners Announced

by | Feb 28, 2022 | Awards | 0 comments

The International Association of Currency Affairs is delighted to announce the Winners +  Finalists for the 16th round of its Excellence in Currency Awards as presented at the Banknote/Currency Conference in Washington, D.C. in February 2022.  The Finalists were selected from among 39 nominated projects that represented important initiatives by teams at 20 central banks, 3 commercial banknote issuers, 9 suppliers to the banknote industry and 1 banknote distribution system organization.

Best New Banknote or  Banknote Series

WINNERS: (at tie)

  • Banco Central de Costa Rica and CCL Secure: Series B 2000 Colones, 5000 Colones, and 20,000 Colones Banknotes
  • Central Bank of Azerbaijan and G+D/Louisenthal: 50 Manat Banknote


  • Banco de México: 1000 Pesos Series G Banknote
  • Qatar National Bank and De la Rue: 5th Series of Banknotes

Best New Commemorative or Limited Circulation Banknote


  • Bank of Namibia and CCL Secure: $N 30 Banknote


  • Banco de México and CCL Secure: 20 Pesos Commemorative G series, National Independence Bicentennial Banknote
  • Bank of Guatemala and G+D/Louisenthal: 20 Quetzales Commemorative Banknote
  • Bank Indonesia: 75 Years Independence 75.000 Rupiah Banknote
  • Monetary Authority of Singapore: Bicentennial $20 Commemorative Banknote

Best New Coin or Coin Series


  • Banco de México: 20 Pesos Commemorative Coins (Veracruz and others)


  • Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas:  20-Piso New Generation Currency Coin
  • National Bank of Kazakhstan: 200 Tenge Coin

Best New Currency Innovation


  • Vaultex UK: Green Path Campaign


  • Central Bank of Honduras and G+D/Louisenthal: 200 Lempira Registered Security Thread

The IACA Awards Review Committee for this round of IACA Awards included special guest judges Mazen Hamdan (International Mint and Print), J. Dario Negueruela Martinez (ex Banco de España), and Lydia Yip (ex Hong Kong Monetary Authority), together with David Tidmarsh (Reconnaissance International), and for IACA, Richard Wall, Brian Lang, Eugenie Foster, and Tom Ferguson.  Next, IACA delegates will vote to select the winners, which will be announced on February 22, 2022 in conjunction with The Banknote and Currency Conference in Washington, DC.

For Information please contact: Sybil Baxter, IACA Administrator,  sbaxter@currencyaffairs.org