And the winner is….

by | May 17, 2023 | Awards | 0 comments

We are delighted to announce the Winners for the 17th round of its Excellence in Currency Awards as presented at the Currency Conference in Mexico City, May 16, 2023.  The Finalists were selected from among 29 nominated projects that represented important initiatives by central banks, commercial banknote issuers, mints and other suppliers to the banknote industry.

Best New Banknote or Banknote Series:

WINNER: Bank Indonesia, 2022 Rupiah Banknote Series


  • Banco Central de Costa Rica, 10,000 and 1000 Colón Banknotes
  • Banco de México, 50 Peso Banknote
  • Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, 1000 Piso Banknote
  • Central Bank of Bahamas, New CRISP Evolution Series $100 Banknote

Best New Coin or Coin Series:

WINNER: $2 Circulation Coin in Memory of Queen Elizabeth, Royal Canadian Mint


  • GH₵1 Circulating Coin, Bank of Ghana and The Royal Mint
  • 5 Dollar Coin, Central Bank of Liberia and The Royal Mint
  • 50p His Majesty King Charles III Coin, The Royal Mint

Best New Currency Public Engagement Program:

WINNER: 1000-Piso Polymer Banknote Public Engagement Program, Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas


  • Standing Secure: 2022 Polymer Banknote Series, Central Bank of Barbados
  • Commemorative Circulation $1 Coin Program Celebrating Oscar Peterson, Royal Canadian Mint 

Best New Environmental Sustainability Program for Currency

WINNER:   Green Banknote, G+D


  • New Green PVD Coating Technology for Intaglio Printing Plates,
  • INORCOAT & Bank Al-Maghrib – Dar As-Sikkah
  • Zero Waste to Landfill & Energy Reduction Program, CCL Secure

Special Thanks to our Judging Commitee:

-Michael Lambert, former Director of Banknotes, Federal Reserve Board

-Brian Lang, VP of IACA and former Head of Currency, RBNZ

-Bernadette O’Brien, Senior Banknote Production Expert

-Ton Roos, Former Director of Banknotes, ECB

David Tidmarsh, Director of Reconnaissance

-Richard Wall, IACA Chair; former MD of Currency, Bank of Canada

-Lydia Yip, Advisor to Central Banks, former Head of Currency, HKMA